VLDB 2020 Tokyo 46th International Conference on Very Large Data Bases

VLDB2020: Call for Contributions - Demonstrations Deadline Extended!


VLDB 2020 invites submissions for demo proposals on any topic of interest, broadly defined, to the data management community. Accepted demonstration papers will appear in the PVLDB proceedings. One of the demonstrations presented at the conference will be selected to receive a Best Demo Award.

Important Dates

  • Proposal submission deadline: March 25 April 1 2020 (5 p.m. PST) Extended!
  • Notification of acceptance: May 20 June 4, 2020Extended!
  • Camera-ready copy due: June July 15 2020Extended!

Demo Proposals

The proposal must describe the demonstrated system, and state the novelty and significance of the contribution to data management research, technologies, and/or its applications. The proposal should pay special attention to describing the exact demonstration scenarios for the given system. This should include how the audience will experience the demo, what kind of functionality is supported, user scenarios, interface and interaction options, etc. Proposals must be submitted in camera-ready format and limited to 4 pages, inclusive of ALL material.

Video Submissions

We specifically encourage the submission of a demonstration video (of up to 5 minutes, 50MB max. file size) together with your demonstration proposal via CMT. Both the demonstration proposal and the video will then be accessible by the reviewers. Your video should summarize your demonstration and also audio-visually highlight its most important aspects, such as the user interface, options for user interactions, the system setup, etc. The video should be submitted in MPEG/AVI/MP4 format and be playable by the common media players. Please note that you will need to first finish your demo proposal submission and then edit it to add the video as a supplementary file.


To minimize biases in the evaluation process, we use CMT’s conflict management system, through which authors should flag conflicts with the Demo Program Committee members. All authors of a submission must declare conflicts on CMT prior to the submission deadline.

You have a conflict with X:

  • If you and X have worked in the same university or company in the past two years, or will be doing so in the next six months on account of an accepted job offer. Different campuses do not count as the same university for this purpose – UC Berkeley does not have a conflict with UC Santa Barbara.
  • If you and X have collaborated recently, as evidenced in a joint publication or jointly organized event in the past two years, or are collaborating now.
  • If you are the PhD thesis advisor of X or vice versa, irrespective of how long ago this was.
  • If X is a relative or close personal friend.

Submissions with undeclared conflicts or spurious conflicts will be DESK REJECTED. There will be NO exceptions to this rule.

Originality and Duplicate Submissions

Note that demonstration proposals must not have been published, or be under consideration for publication, at any other forum. Demonstration proposals should specifically focus on the genuine aspects of the described systems and the intended interaction with the audience; they should not be a short version of an existing conference paper (whether or not this may have been published elsewhere).

Demo Submission

Demonstration proposals must be submitted electronically, in PDF format, using CMT. When creating a new paper submission, you will be given the option to choose a track. Choose the “Demonstrations” track for your demo proposal. A respective option to upload the demonstration video will be made available.

Demo Track Chairs

Demo Track PC Members

  • Ahmed Eldawy (University of California, Riverside)
  • Alekh Jindal (Microsoft)
  • Alvin Cheung (University of California, Berkeley)
  • Amelie Marian (Rutgers)
  • Angelos Anadiotis (Ecole Polytechnique, France)
  • Annika Hinze (The University of Waikato, NZ)
  • Benoît Groz ( Université Paris Sud - France)
  • Boris Glavic (Illinois Institute of Technology)
  • Chaokun Wang (Tsinghua University)
  • Daniel Deutch (Tel Aviv University)
  • David Eyers (University of Otago)
  • Dong Wen (University of Technology Sydney)
  • Fabian Suchanek (Télécom ParisTech)
  • Fan Zhang (Guangzhou University)
  • Guanfeng Liu (Macquarie University)
  • Helena Galhardas (INESC-ID and IST, Universidade de Lisboa )
  • Ioana Giurgiu (IBM Research)
  • Jens Teubner (TU Dortmund University)
  • Jiang Du (Facebook)
  • Katerina Tzompanaki )
  • Katja Hose (Aalborg University)
  • Kazuo Goda (Institute of Industrial Science, The University of Tokyo)
  • Keishi Tajima (Kyoto University)
  • Letizia Tanca (Politecnico di Milano)
  • Lu Chen (Aalborg University, Denmark)
  • Luc Bouganim (INRIA)
  • Lucian Popa (IBM Almaden Research Center)
  • Michael Grossniklaus (University of Konstanz)
  • Michael Gubanov (Florida State University)
  • Nesreen Ahmed (Intel Labs)
  • Oana Balalau (Inria and École Polytechnique)
  • Oscar Romero (Universitat Politティcnica de Catalunya, Spain)
  • Pinar Karagoz (METU, Turkey)
  • Qiong Luo (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)
  • Saravanan Thirumuruganathan (QCRI)
  • Slava Novgorodov (eBay Research)
  • Vijay Gadepally (MIT Lincoln Laboratory - USA)
  • Wentao Wu (Microsoft Research)
  • Xiaoyang Wang (Zhejiang Gongshang University)
  • Xin Cao (University of New South Wales)
  • Yannis Katsis (IBM Research)
  • Yannis Velegrakis (Utrecht University)
  • Yash Govind (Informatica LLC)
  • Yasuhiro Fujiwara (NTT Communication Science Laboratories)
  • Yuanyuan Tian (IBM Almaden)
  • Yuchen Li (Singapore Management University)
  • Zoi Kaoudi (TU Berlin)